Calendar

Format: 12/22/14

Peter Mendelsund: Visual Phenomenon

Wednesday, March 4th 7:30pm

Peter Mendelsund, the associate art director at Alfred A. Knopf, published in tandem his first monograph of book jacket art, Cover, and his illustrated “exploration into the phenomenology of reading,” What We See When We Read. He has designed cover art for many famous books including The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Mendelsund’s books make passionate readers think about what we largely take for granted when absorbed in a book, and spark further thoughts about what the pleasurable experience of reading is all about.

details

Toddler Art: African Adventures

March 6, 17, or 20, 11:00 a.m.-noon

For 2 and 3 year olds and a favorite grown-up. Toddler Art requires advance registration. Click the event for additional information.

In March, take an imaginary journey to Africa and explore colorful textiles and costumes.

details

Selected Shorts: Surprised by Love

Saturday, March 7th 7:30pm

The annual appearance of Selected Shorts is always eagerly anticipated! Tony Award winner James Naughton joins Emmy Award winner Mary Kay Place and Golden Globe nominee Jane Kaczmarek in an evening of stories by Louise Erdrich, Maile Meloy, and Kurt Vonnegut.

details

Gail Sheehy: A Daring Life

Tuesday, March 10th 7:30pm

Gail Sheehy built her formidable career writing in-depth character profiles of political figures such as Bobby Kennedy, Margaret Thatcher, and Mikhail Gorbachev, and reporting on cultural events ranging from the sexual revolution, Cambodian refugees, and the emerging civil war in Northern Ireland.  The author of 17 books, including the bestselling Passages, presents a mesmerizing account of the triumphs and struggles that shaped her own life in the memoir Daring: My Passages.

details

Peter Lerangis: High-Octane Adventure

Sunday, March 15th 3:00pm

Author Rick Riordan has hailed author Peter Lerangis’ The Seven Wonders adventure series as a “high-octane mix of modern adventure and ancient secrets.”  Lerangis is the author of more than 160 books, which have sold more than 5.5 million copies; he also wrote three of the bestselling 39 Clues books.

details

Rabih Alameddine with Colm Tóibín: Words and Pictures

Tuesday, March 17th 7:30pm

Rabih Alameddine’s novel An Unnecessary Woman is a 2014 National Book Award finalist; he is both an author and a painter. Colm Tóibín, a long-time friend of Rabih Alameddine, will moderate the on-stage conversation. An Irish novelist, short story writer, essayist, playwright, critic, and poet, his books include The Master and Nora Webster. Undermain Theater is staging Tóibín’s play The Testament of Mary in March. Expect lively banter from this conversation about identity and whether it’s best conveyed through words or pictures.

details

Jo Baker: Jane Austen Remixed

Thursday, March 19th 7:30pm

The Dallas Museum of Art owns an engraved portrait of Jane Austen, made by her sister Cassandra, which will be on view for two days only – March 19 and 20. In Jo Baker’s acclaimed novel, Longbourn, the better known characters of Elizabeth Bennet and Fitzwilliam Darcy from Austen’s iconic novel Pride and Prejudice take a back seat to the servants of the Bennet household who stoked the fireplaces and washed masses of clothing. Hailed by the New York Times as “delightfully audacious,” this fictionalized tale in the vein of Upstairs, Downstairs and Downton Abbey gives readers a sobering look at the underside of daily life circa 1812. 

details

Homeschool Class for Families: Creative Color

Thursday, March 26, OR April 24, 11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

The Homeschool Class for Families offers an interactive Museum experience for families with children ages 6–12 and requires advance registration. Click the event for additional information.

In the March and April class, fill your world with color! Explore the creative and active works by Japanese artists Kazuo Shiraga and Sadamasa Motonaga before releasing your own inner artist with experimental painting activities in the studio.

details

Marcus Samuelsson: Savory Success

Friday, March 27th 7:30pm

Celebrity chef Marcus Samuelsson has been captivating food lovers with his brilliant culinary interpretations for two decades, dazzling diners and critics alike. His acclaimed restaurants include Red Rooster Harlem and Ginny’s Supper Club, among others. He will share his personal story as told in his New York Times bestselling memoir Yes, Chef and his approach to cooking multicultural recipes for those nearest and dearest to him as featured in his new book Marcus Off Duty.

details

Huan Hsu: Hidden Treasure

Tuesday, March 31st 7:30pm

In partnership with the Boshell Family Lecture Series on Archaeology and the Crow Collection of Asian Art

Huan Hsu, a first-generation Chinese American and journalist, was raised in Salt Lake City. Armed with mere strands of a family legend, he returns to China to discover the fate of his great-great-grandfather’s vast and prized porcelain collection, buried in 1938 for safekeeping from the Japanese. The Porcelain Thief provides a personal glimpse into understanding the bloody, tragic and largely forgotten events that defined Chinese history in the 19th and 20th century.

details

Pages